Ocean County Press Release
Ocean County Remembers Its Fallen Officers

LAKEWOOD – Ocean County will remember its fallen police officers and will honor all peace officers during the annual Law Enforcement Memorial Day Service scheduled for 10:30 a.m., Friday, May 17 at the Ocean County Police Academy, Ocean County Park, Route 88, here.

"We take this day to celebrate the lives of Ocean County's fallen officers," said Freeholder Director John P. Kelly, Director of Law and Public Safety. "As we recall those whose names are etched on the Police Memorial, we remember that they have made the ultimate sacrifice. Their service will never be forgotten."

The annual event is hosted by the Ocean County Chiefs of Police Association with the support of the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

Retired Police Chief William Dikun, who is the Chief Police Instructor at the Ocean County Police Academy, will serve as master of ceremonies. David P. Rible, 30th District State Assemblyman, will give the keynote address.

The Point Pleasant Borough High School Panther Concert Band, under the direction of Scott Visco will perform as will the Ocean County Vocational Technical Schools Performing Arts Academy Vocal Ensemble under the direction of Mary Huhmann, vocal music instructor. Also participating are honor guards, motorcycle squads, bagpipers along with members of the Ocean County Sheriff's Department, the New Jersey State Police and representatives of law enforcement agencies from throughout Ocean County.

The families of those Ocean County officers killed in the line of duty will be recognized during the ceremony during the placement of a wreath at the Police Memorial.

The Police Memorial monument at the Police Academy now lists the names of 15 officers from Ocean County that have died. Those names that appear on the Police Memorial at Ocean County Park are: New Jersey State Trooper First Class Joseph A. Smith, Aug. 4, 1927; New Jersey State Trooper Leonard P. McCandless, June 28, 1931; New Jersey State Trooper John J. Ressler, May 1, 1932; Marshal Arnold Johnson, Point Pleasant Police Department, July 22, 1928; Police Officer Hartley Richter, Lakewood Police Department, April 8, 1946; New Jersey State Trooper Raymond P. Fiola, February 19, 1962; Chief Angelo J. Leonetti, Long Beach Township Police Department, March 6, 1962; Police Officer Robert T. Tobias, Manchester Township Police Department, May 17, 1975; Police Officer Richard J. Harper, Brick Township Police Department, May 4, 1978; Police Officer Larry A. Dunfee Jr., Stafford Township Police Department, April 27, 1981; Police Officer Robert Ventura, Jackson Township Police Department, March 18, 2001; Police Officer William Preslar , Lakewood Township Police Department, May 14, 2007; Police Officer Jason C. Marles, Ocean Gate Police Department, November. 25, 2010; Police Officer Christopher A. Matlosz, Lakewood Police Department, Jan. 14, 2011; Detective Tina E. Rambo, Ocean County Prosecutor's Office, August 1, 2011.

 Top of page
 Back to Press Release List Page
 Back to Ocean County Home Page
Subscribe to Ocean County Email Updates