Ocean County Press Release
New Officers Complete Six Months of Intensive Training

LAKEWOOD – Following six months of intensive physical training and classroom instruction, 35 Ocean County Police Academy recruits on Sept. 18 marked the completion of their academy education during graduation ceremonies.

"On behalf of the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders, I want to congratulate these new members of the law enforcement community," said Ocean County Freeholder Director John P. Kelly, Director of Law and Public Safety. "We are proud to provide these officers with the tools they need to protect the public.

"Law enforcement is a difficult profession," Kelly noted. "We also recognize their families and loved ones who supported them throughout their time at the academy. I know they will continue to provide this support throughout their careers."

Of the 35, two will join the ranks of the Ocean County Sheriff's Department, while the others will be working in Police Departments throughout Ocean County and also for the New Jersey State Park Police.

"We provide the best training possible to our new officers," said Acting Ocean County Sheriff William T. Sommeling. "You can see the change in the recruits from the first day of class to graduation. When they leave us today, they leave as law enforcement officers, facing the many challenges inherent to the profession today."

Graduates receiving awards during the ceremony held at Georgian Court University, here, are Ryan V. Osborn, Brick Township Police Department, The James J. Tracey Leadership Award presented by the Ocean County Emerald Society; Michael J. Hein, Lacey Township Police Department, High Academic Award; Edward J. Hendrickson, Berkeley Township Police Department, High Overall Award and High Physical Fitness Award; Timothy R. Pizzella, Berkeley Township Police Department, High Marksmanship Award; Hein, Hendrickson, Pizzella and Robert P. Mazur Jr., Ocean County Sheriff's Office all received the Distinguished Expert Perfect Score.

The graduates of Basic Police Class 96 and their respective police departments are: Brian G. Bargas, Edward J. Hendrickson, Timothy R. Pizzella, all Berkeley Township Police Department; Roberta A. Brooks, Lakehurst Police Department; Mark M. Catalina, Ryan V. Osborn, Jeffrey E. Person and Ryan G. Wynn, all Brick Township Police Department; Jeremiah L. Clancy, Heidi O. Correa, Jeffrey Dankanich II, Michael W. Heaton, George H. Hendrickson. Amy L. Jones and Steven J. Worth Jr., all New Jersey State Park Police.

And, Michael R. Dover, Robert P. Mazur Jr., both Ocean County Sheriff's Department; Patrick S. Healey, Freehold Borough Police Department; Michael J. Hein, Scott R. Keefe, Daniel W. Ricciardella, and Anthony R. Sarno, all Lacey Township Police Department; Christopher D. Inglis, Toms River Police Department; David M. Ippolito Jr., Travis G. Popiel, Nicholas C. Rossi, Jesse J. Waterson, all Point Pleasant Borough Police Department.

Also, Patrick J. Mabie, Manchester Township Police Department; Ryan M. Pfaff, Milltown Police Department; Nicholas J. Romano, Gary M. Vecchione Jr., both Long Branch Police Department; Gary Siculietano, Point Pleasant Beach Police Department; Jason J. Silk and Salvatore D. Spart, both Florence Township Police Department, and Stephen G. Solovey III, Princeton University Police Department.

 Top of page
 Back to Press Release List Page
 Back to Ocean County Home Page
Subscribe to Ocean County Email Updates