In New Jersey anyone with a reasonable cause to believe a child is being abused should immediately call the Child Abuse hotline listed below. In most cases a reasonable suspicion would include: a child telling you about abuse, witnessing the abuse, a parent’s statement of abuse, or any physical or behavioral signs of abuse. Never assume someone else will report the abuse. * If the child is in immediate danger, you should call 911 or your local law enforcement agency.
To report abuse in New Jersey call the Child Abuse Hotline listed below: The hotline is available 24 hours a day seven days a week.
1-877 NJ ABUSE
If you are in a position where you are a Mandated Reporter, you should check with the agency you are employed by for the proper protocols in handling disclosures and reporting abuse. If you are a New Jersey Educator, click here to be linked to the page: Information for Educators
What Happens after a call is placed?
When a report indicates that a child may be at risk, an investigator from Division of Children and Families will promptly investigate the allegations of child abuse and neglect within 24 hours of receipt of the report.
Can I remain Anonymous?
Yes, all calls to hotline can remain anonymous.
Will I be informed of the outcome of the case?
Due to confidentiality laws, unless you are a mandated reporter in an official capacity or a witness to the case, you probably will not be updated on the results of the investigation.