126 South Main Street (Route 9), PO Box 412
Forked River, NJ 08731
609-971-0467

Open Mid-June to Labor Day (or by appointment)
Mon-Wed-Fri: 1:00 to 3:00 pm
 

About the Museum

Collections / Gallery

Location

Sat: 10:am- 12 noon
   
 
 

The Lacey Historical Society seeks to preserve artifacts, landmarks, and lore of the local region so that public awareness of and appreciative concern for the unique history of Lacey Township may be fostered.

The museum headquarters is Forked River's old schoolhouse, built in 1868 and in use until 1952 - when a new grade school was built.

In 1962, three ladies were instrumental in forming the Historical Society to preserve the Old Schoolhouse and to make it into a museum. The Township dedicated its use to the museum which stands there today.

 
   
 

 
         
The museums has displays of tools, utensils, furniture, photos depicting local life in years gone by.
Annual Apple Festival - Last weekend in September to benefit the museum scholarship fund and museum upkeep. Activities include pie-baking contests, music, crafts, food, victorian games, etc.
 
       
Ocean County Cultural and Heritage Commission  

HOME / ABOUT US /MUSEUMS / HISTORY / PHOTO GALLERY / HISTORIC LINKS / KIDS

 
Ocean County Cultural and Heritage Commission