Ocean County Government
Board of CommissionersDropdown arrow

Meet Our Commissioners

Ocean County is governed by a five member Board of Commissioners. They are elected at-large by the registered voters of the county's 33 municipalities.

Each Ocean County Commissioner serves as a chairperson of an area of County Government, broadly divided into the categories of: Finances and Parks and Recreation, Public Works and County Operations, Transportation and Senior Services, Human Services, Law and Public Safety, Administration, and Environmental Resources.

The Commissioners are given broad powers to regulate County property, finances and affairs. The Board prepares and adopts the County Budget; authorizes expenditures and bonds, acts on claims against the County, appoints County officials and members of boards, commissions, councils, and authorities; and supervises the administration of all County departments. The Board of Commissioners acts in concert to protect the health and welfare of its citizens.