Ocean County Government
Board of CommissionersDropdown arrow

Department of Solid Waste Management

Ocean County Southern Recycling Center Transfer Station

Located at 379 Haywood Road, Manahawkin, NJ 08050. Click Here for directions to the Southern Recycling Center.

Ocean County operates a Recyclables Transfer Station for materials received from municipal, commercial, and private haulers at its Southern Recycling Center in Stafford Township.

These recyclables are then transferred from this facility to the County's Recyclable Materials Processing Facility in Lakewood Township.

Hours of operation for the Southern Recycling Center and its transfer station are 7:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday (Saturday for Ocean County residents only).

Recycling is also available during regular hours of operation at the SRC for batteries (rechargable, button, auto, boat), motor oil, oil filters, cooking grease, antifreeze, tires, empty steel paint cans, boat shrink wrap, books (soft and hardcover), phone books, computers, ink cartridges, cell phones, paint (latex, oil, and boat), leaves, and light brush.

These items may be brought to Building 105 for proper disposal (excluding leaves and brush, which have separate drop-off areas).

The Southern Recycling Center also contains 24-hour Resident Drop-off Areas for aluminum and tin cans, glass containers, plastic beverage containers, newspaper, mixed paper and residential cardboard. The 24-hour drop-off area remains open on all holidays.

For additional information about this location, you may contact the SRC at (609) 978-0913.